New Member from London UK

Danny, Michael, and I (Tom) couldn't be happier and more impressed with our members and friends! It would be wonderful if we all got to know each other better. Here's a forum to post images and short autobiographies of ourselves as well as any other info you would like to post about yourself. We are looking forward to meeting you all!

Moderators: nzmacro, Ken Ramos, twebster, S. Alden

cassian

New Member from London UK

Post by cassian »

Hello,

I would like to say hello to everyone here as I have just registered.

I am a marine ecology PhD student from London and am about to delve into the fascinatingly small-but-wonderful world of photomicroscopy. I have recently finished sorting 120 coral reef sediment samples - totalling 106,561 organisms within the 'meiofaunal' size range: 500um to 63um - organisms which dwell within the interstices of aquatic sediments.. Nematodes, copepods, turbellarians, polychaetes and the like... the samples have taken a long time to sort ;)

I found this site while researching CCTV attachments. I have at my mercy a Zeiss compound Photomicroscope III which I want to adapt to take a digital CCTV camera for display and capture on a PC computer. I also have use of a Nikon SMZ 1000 stereo microscope, with an attachment for (so far) a Nikon CoolPix 800 digital stills camera...

Anyway I am very much looking forward to getting involved, learning a few things, and giving back what I can. From what I have seen already there are a lot of people willing to share knowledge here and I hope that in time I may become one of them.

All the best,

Cassian

twebster
Site Admin

Post by twebster »

Welcome aboard, Cassian :D