Greetings from an excited newcomer!

This area is for the discussion of what's new, what's on your mind, and general photographic topics. A place to meet, make comments on this site, and get the latest community news.

Moderators: MacroMike, nzmacro, Ken Ramos, twebster, S. Alden

Meadster

Greetings from an excited newcomer!

Post by Meadster »

Howdy everyone!

My name is John Mead & I'm a bio teacher here in Dallas, TX. I work mostly with gifted middle school students and am in the process of developing a digital microscopy center at our school. As such, you can imagine my pleasure at finding such a fine site as this!

A part of this microscopy center is that we are hosting the inaugural year of "MicroMarvels" camp this summer for kids in 3rd-8th grades. The will get to spend 15 hours learning about microscopes & then photographing & video capturing all sorts of creatures to take home on their own personal DVDs. Some of students & I have started playing with the idea of taking the vidveos we create courtesy of our Moticam 2000s cameras and streaming them over the web. Here is the link to the initial collection of videos - these were posted to see how well they stream & we like the resusts so far! As this project progresses - I plan on sharing our results & asking questions. If any of you have "cool" microscope activities you think would be fun for kids to do, I'd love to hear from you. Here's our link to the streaming videos: http://www.smtexas.net/faculty/mead/index02.htm

ENJOY!

nephiliim

Post by nephiliim »

First of all I'd like to wish you a warm welcome to the forum John.

Second of all, those video's look great. Maybe some adjustments to lighting.

Love to see some more results soon.

Tom
Sometimes smaller is better!
*nodge nodge :D*

Comments and advice always welcome
My little website

Charles Krebs

Post by Charles Krebs »