Diggin' it in the Sultanate.

Danny, Michael, and I (Tom) couldn't be happier and more impressed with our members and friends! It would be wonderful if we all got to know each other better. Here's a forum to post images and short autobiographies of ourselves as well as any other info you would like to post about yourself. We are looking forward to meeting you all!

Moderators: nzmacro, Ken Ramos, twebster, S. Alden

Doc_Rocknocker

Diggin' it in the Sultanate.

Post by Doc_Rocknocker »

Greetings from sunny Muscat, Oman.

I'm an American Expat geologist doing the Middle East routine (best gig i've had in 26 years and 36 countries).

This place is the world's greatest geological laboratory. And with the less than drenching per annum rainfall, there's just gobs and gobs of bare naked geology galloping around (home to the Semail Ophiolite, obducted in the Late Cretaceous; so you can walk up and actually touch the Moho and lunch in a fossil magma chamber).

Being both a geologist and photofanatic, I'm working on a roadside geology book for the Muscat area. As I also have an extensive background in imagery and thematic interpretation, I naturally gravitated towards photomacrography; particularly of rocks and minerals (and given the pitiable results of Googling this field, it looks somewhat neglected).

Since I attended college (back in the Pliocene, or so it seems), I've worked with SEM's, S(T)EM's, petrographic microscopes, cathodoluminescence and varied other forms of image capture and analysis. For now, though, I rely on old Canon iron: 3 AE-1 program bodies, innumerable lenses (thanks to Ebay), a complete Zenit collection (from 1982-present thanks to my years spent coaxing oil out of Siberia) and my new (relatively speaking) F-1, bellows, extension tubes, etc. setup.