Me, by Graham...

Danny, Michael, and I (Tom) couldn't be happier and more impressed with our members and friends! It would be wonderful if we all got to know each other better. Here's a forum to post images and short autobiographies of ourselves as well as any other info you would like to post about yourself. We are looking forward to meeting you all!

Moderators: nzmacro, Ken Ramos, twebster, S. Alden

gpmatthews

Me, by Graham...

Post by gpmatthews »

Here I am pictured in my workshop with some of my microscopes. I started splashing around in ponds and streams as a small boy and have never really looked back. I thoroughly enjoy tinkering with microscopes and as a former development scientist am a firm believer in never using anything for what it was intended! - so I improvise a lot. I spent some 25 years in the pharmaceutical industry doing just that whilst developing new products and tweaking processes. I am a pharmacist by profession and now work for the UK Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) in London dealing with reports of defective medicines.

I am also a licensed radio amateur (G4LLI) although not at present very active on the air. I am a keen builder of models of armoured fighting vehicles - the last model was entirely made from photo-etched brass using masks generated and printed by computer.

Music - an eclectic mix of jazz, baroque, classical, Indian, middle eastern and lots of other things - once again, almost anything improvised or interestingly unusual.

Family: My wife, Noi, is Thai and a great cook (eating is another passion of mine). I have a five and a half year old daughter, Janejira, who is bilingual (English/Thai) and loves learning about what Daddy is up to.