Canon 20D Macro - Extension rings or macro lens?

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: MacroMike, nzmacro, Ken Ramos, twebster, S. Alden

Blue Fox

Canon 20D Macro - Extension rings or macro lens?

Post by Blue Fox »

Hi everyone, I am new to this forum and very happy :D to have found such enthusiasm and amazing photographs!! I am hoping you can give me some advice. I have been making macro shots for about 18 months with a Nikon Coolpix 5700 which gave me nice results although only 4 megapixels....so I recently upgraded to a Canon 20D which has 8.2 megapixels but I haven't a clue about macro lenses :? Can anyone please tell me if extension rings are worth buying or should I get a macro lens? And what about Kenko rings? Are they any good? Any advice regards the 20D will be very much appreciated. Thanks. :)

Charles Krebs

Post by Charles Krebs »

Welcome. The 20D is a really nice camera.
Extension tubes certainly allow any lens to focus closer... but the image quality and convenience of a macro lens is hard to beat.

A lot depends on the lens (or lenses) you already have, and the magnification range you would like to work in (ie: intended subjects).

So if you give a little more info we could probably make better suggestions.

Blue Fox

Post by Blue Fox »

Hi, thanks for the reply. I have two lenses, a Canon 18-55mm and a Sigma 55-200mm. That's all at the moment... I am mostly interested in butterflies and flowers but having seen some of the wonderful insect photos on this site I just might be persuaded to overcome my terror of wasps and other winged beasts! So... any ideas please? :idea:

Sergio Zalewska

Post by Sergio Zalewska »

Hello Fox and welcome.
I have a 350D, a set of Kenko tubes, a 50mm 1.8, a Sigma 18-50 2.8 and the lens that came with the camera, which are retired by now.